Race Report – 9 March 2012

It was a cracking night’s racing tonight, with 40 cars on hand and plenty of close action.  Tonight’s race report will be short as I’m trying to be responsible and get a decent night’s sleep before the Tasmanian Championships this weekend!

Numbers were decent allowing for the fact that a couple of regular racers are at the Australian 8th Offroad Champs this weekend, and quite a few regular touring car drivers opted not to run with cars prepared and ready for the Tasmanian Champs that starts in Hobart tomorrow.

First, here’s the full race results now uploaded for the last three race meetings:

A full points update for the Autumn 2012 series so far will follow next week.  Read on for a few thoughts and basic results…

8th Big Bangers

The 8th class was dominated by Steve Madziara tonight, with Ben Wilson consistently second and Jarrod Painting third. That’s the way the final panned out as well, with John Silczak dropping a wheel to finish fifth and the continually improving Darren Sheehan fourth.


Ben Goode came and saw and conquered. Driving his new (ex-Paddy Hume) Team Associated B4 buggy, Ben overcame the top qualifier Michael Taylor with Nick Wade third and Kade Targett having electical issues in fourth. Kris Jones didn’t make the start line for the final.

Tenth Buggy

Sam Wells was awesome, setting TQ and then dominating the final including a 23.003 lap time….so close to a 22!  Alex John got the better of Paddy Hume for the podium with Jarrod Painting and Damien Betts also close by.


As I mentioned, a few non starters in this class meant a quite small three car field. Rocket tuned up for the Tasmanian Champs with a big win over Peter Hutton while Kelly Viney was consistent all night, before a mid-final meltdown as temperatures soared.

Short Course Truck

Big win to Scott Guyatt over Josh Fogarty who was in good form after a long layoff. From there it was tight, with just 2 seconds splitting the next three drivers – Alex John getting the podium spot ahead of Andrew Mackenzie and Rocket Houghton.

The B final went to Chris Murray, steadily easing away throughout over Derek Beresford with Mark Jones proving the value of consistency by grabbing the 3rd position.

Head over to the full results for all the details.


About scottg

Scott Guyatt is husband, father, brother, son, friend, disciple, runner, cyclist and story-teller
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Race Report – 9 March 2012

  1. James says:

    Had a good night out apart from my transmitter batteries going flat!

    I just want to appollogise for my behaviour last night; i do get upset easy and im sorry if i upset anyone! Thanks James

Comments are closed.