Autumn Championship Points

Our 2011 Autumn Championship series is finished, and we’re ready to crown five Series Champions.  A reminder that Championship series awards go to club members only.

Congratulations to:

  • Novice: Derek Beresford
  • Touring Car: Rodney Houghton
  • Tenth Buggy: Paddy Hume
  • 8th Big Bangers: Josh Fogarty
  • Short Course Trucks: Andrew Green

Full points details are here: LRC Autumn 2011 Points – Final


The Novice Championship was one of the most open, particularly given that many within the class didn’t run the full season (many having started racing once the Autumn season was already well underway).  Derek Beresford came on with a series of consistent results, to sneak home just four points clear of Jarrod Painting, with Carl Taylor just a further four points away in 3rd.  Philip Ferguson and Aimee McKenzie were also close by.


Rocket was dominant in the TC class, winning the last five straight meetings, Peter Hutton likewise strong with five second place finishes, and Graham Viney third. Ian Scott was a welcome addition to the field during the season.

Tenth Buggy:

This one went down to the proverbial wire, Paddy Hume getting the nod by just two points over Sam Wells, with Steve Madziara third. These three all took race wins during the series, as Tenth Buggy became one of our most competitive classes.  Chris Brickwood and Andrew Mackenzie also finished in the top five.

8th Big Bangers:

When Josh Fogarty made an appearance last week, little would we know that would be jsut enough to get him home for the narrowest of wins over Steve Madziara – the margin one solitary point. Fogarty built his championship on a string of three wins early in the season, while Madziara also took a win, but never finished lower than second. Impressive consistency!  Rocket has hit top gear over the last couple of events to race home into third for the series, Ben Wilson and Troy Taylor rounding out the top five.

Short Course Trucks:

After a series of close fought Short Course races, Andrew Green nailed his first win of the series in the final round of the year, and in doing so took a last gasp win over previous series leader Andrew Mackenzie. Josh Fogarty returned to the class with his new Ultima SC just in time to snaffle third for the series, with Scott Guyatt and Nathan Clark rounding out the top five.

Winter Championship Series:

Our Winter Series will run June/July/August. Once again, we’ll run 6 events, with each driver’s best 5 results to count.


About scottg

Scott Guyatt is husband, father, brother, son, friend, disciple, runner, cyclist and story-teller
This entry was posted in Race Reports. Bookmark the permalink.